Doctor Claire Rieux



Haematologist and humanitarian

Claire Rieux is a doctor specialised in haematology with a Master’s Degree in Public Health and Epidemiology. She practised haematology-oncology for several years at Hospices Civils in Lyon and Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris (AP-HP). Considering her double qualification as a clinic and public health haematologist, she coordinated AP-HP’s haemovigilance network and significantly contributed to structure this new health monitoring activity on a national level as an expert at ANSM, the French National Agency for Medicines and Health Products Safety.

Claire Rieux has always demonstrated a humanitarian engagement. She carried out several field and coordination missions, primarily with Doctors without Borders, where she was a member of the Board of Directors from 2008 to 2014 and vice-president for 3 years. During her term as board member, she was actively involved in developing new medical opportunities: in terms of topics (antimicrobial resistance, chronic diseases, sickle-cell disease, cancers, rapid diagnostic tests), medical communication (creation of the “From one hospital to another” exhibition) and medical human resources (establishment of partnerships with teaching hospitals, especially regarding the validation of medical internships). In 2016, she is appointed Medical Director at La Chaîne de l’Espoir and prompts strategic thinking on several issues including children’s heart defects, caustic stenosis, paediatric oncology and tele-expertise. She was also in charge of the medical support on an emergency relief project in Iraqi Kurdistan.

In the field of research, she initiated a project at Epicentre (epidemiological and clinical research satellite of Doctors without Borders) on infections in malnourished children. She took part in many therapeutic trials in haematology and carries out epidemiological studies in the field of haemovigilance (transfusion-related pulmonary and haemolytic complications). Moreover, she also published scientific articles and intervened in medical conventions.

Her diverse experience confirmed her desire to open the scope of considerations in humanitarian medicine to visions and methods from other lines of work, in order to develop medical innovations allowing for the provision of high-quality care for the most destitute communities.

Docteur Claire Rieux



Hématologue et humanitaire

Claire Rieux est médecin, spécialisée en hématologie et titulaire d’un master en santé publique et épidémiologie. Elle a exercé pendant plusieurs années en onco-hématologie aux Hospices Civils de Lyon et à l’Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris (AP-HP). Compte-tenu de sa double formation d’hématologue clinicienne et de santé publique, elle a créé et coordonné le réseau d’hémovigilance de l’AP-HP et a largement contribué à la structuration de cette nouvelle activité de veille sanitaire sur le plan national (expert à l’ANSM).

Claire Rieux a toujours eu un engagement humanitaire. Elle a réalisé plusieurs missions de terrain et de coordination essentiellement avec MSF et a été membre du conseil d’administration de 2008 à 2014 et vice-présidente pendant 3 ans. Lors de son mandat au CA elle s’est investie dans les nouvelles pistes médicales à développer : sur le plan des thématiques (antibiorésistance, maladies chroniques, drépanocytose, cancers, tests diagnostiques rapides) ; de la communication médicale (création de l’exposition « D’un hôpital à l’autre ») et des ressources humaines médicales (création de partenariat avec les CHU, en particulier validation de stage d’internes). Elle a été directrice médicale de la chaîne de l’espoir en 2016 et a conduit plusieurs réflexions stratégiques sur les cardiopathies des enfants, les sténoses caustiques, l’onco-pédiatrie et la télé-expertise. Elle a par ailleurs assuré le soutien médical d’un projet d’urgence au Kurdistan Irakien.

Sur le plan de la recherche, elle a monté un projet à Epicentre (satellite épidémiologique et de recherche clinique de MSF) sur les infections chez les enfants malnutris. Elle a participé à de nombreux essais thérapeutiques en hématologie et conduit des études épidémiologiques dans le domaine de l’hémovigilance (complications pulmonaires et hémolytiques de la transfusion). Enfin elle a publié des articles scientifiques et fait des communications orales dans des congrès médicaux.

Ces différentes expériences ont confirmé sa volonté d’ouvrir le champ de la réflexion sur la médecine humanitaire à des visions et outils d’autres secteurs, afin de développer des innovations médicales permettant d’offrir des soins de qualité pour les plus démunis.