Professor Alain Deloche



Cardiac surgeon and humanitarian

Born in 1940, Professor Alain Deloche is a world famous cardiac surgeon. He showed determination and passion throughout each step of his hospital career. Beside operating on more than 30,000 children with heart defects, he witnessed the birth of cardiac surgery with the great pioneers Charles Dubost and Alain Carpentier. Between 2000 and 2010, he is head of the cardiovascular department at Georges Pompidou European Hospital.

Member of the Academy of Surgery and professor emeritus at Paris Descartes University, he trained thousands of students and most of all hundreds of medical interns in cardiac surgery. At Paris V University, his best-known works are related to myocardial infarction, for which he was awarded many international prizes.

By family atavism, humanism and conviction, Professor Alain Deloche carried out parallel to his career equally exemplary humanitarian activities. In 1972, he co-founds Doctors without Borders along with Bernard Kouchner. In 1980, he is the cofounder of Médecins du Monde and becomes the organisation’s president from 1984 to 1987.

Most and for all, he founded La Chaîne de l’Espoir in 1994 to come to the aid of children unfairly deprived of certain rights because of where they were born. Through La Chaîne de l’Espoir, his objective has always been to share medical knowledge. In Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cambodia and Mozambique, hospitals have been built; doctors and surgeons have been trained. Each year, children all over the world benefit from this quasi-unique chain of solidarity. Today, he is mainly devoted to the African continent with a large hospital construction project for Senegal and the sub-region as a whole.

Alain Deloche penned many books, the most famous of which are Comme un éléphant blanc “Like a white elephant” (Michel Lafon Publishing), Le roman du coeur “Novel of the heart” (Michel Lafon Publishing), Dîtes-moi la vérité Docteur ‘Tell me the truth doctor’ (Robert Laffont Publishing), La Glace à la vanille – un chirurgien pour les enfants du monde “Vanilla ice cream, a surgeon for children across the world” and most recently Le Cœur éternel , utopie ou promesse “The Eternal Heart: utopia or promise?” co-authored with Professor Gilles Dreyfus and published by Michel Lafon Publishing.

Professeur Alain Deloche



Chirurgien cardiaque et humanitaire

Né en 1940, le Professeur Alain Deloche est un chirurgien cardiaque de renommée mondiale. Il a gravi chacun des échelons de sa carrière hospitalière avec opiniâtreté et passion. Il a sans doute opéré plus de 30 000 cœurs mais a surtout connu les premières heures de la chirurgie cardiaque avec les grands pionniers que furent Charles Dubost et Alain Carpentier. Il a été entre 2000 et 2010 à la tête du pôle cardio-vasculaire de l’hôpital Européen Georges Pompidou.

Membre de l’Académie de chirurgie et professeur émérite à l’université Paris Descartes, il a formé des milliers d’étudiants et particulièrement des centaines d’internes en chirurgie cardiaque. A l’université Paris V, ses travaux de recherche les plus connus concernent l’infarctus du Myocarde, travaux qui ont été récompensés par de multiples prix internationaux.

Par atavisme familial, par humanisme et conviction, le Professeur Alain Deloche a mené en parallèle un parcours humanitaire tout aussi exemplaire. En 1972, il est co-fondateur de Médecins Sans Frontières avec Bernard Kouchner. En 1980, il est co-fondateur de l’association Médecins du Monde dont il fut le président de 1984 à 1987.

Il a surtout créé en 1994 La Chaîne de l’Espoir pour venir au secours des enfants injustement condamnés de par leur lieu de naissance. Son objectif, à travers La Chaîne de l’Espoir, a toujours été de partager le savoir médical. Au Viêt-Nam, en Afghanistan, au Cambodge, au Mozambique des hôpitaux ont été créés, des médecins et des chirurgiens formés. Chaque année et partout dans le monde, des milliers d’enfants bénéficient de cette chaîne de solidarité quasi-unique. Aujourd’hui, il se consacre essentiellement au continent africain avec notamment un grand projet hospitalier pour le  Sénégal et la sous-région.

Alain Deloche est enfin l’auteur de nombreux ouvrages, les plus connus étant « Comme un éléphant Blanc » (éditions Michel Lafon), « Le roman du cœur » (éditions Michel Lafon), « Dîtes-moi la vérité Docteur » (éditions Robert Laffont),  « la Glace à la vanille – un chirurgien pour les enfants du monde » aux éditions du Cherche Midi et tout récemment «  le cœur éternel , utopie ou promesse », co-écrit avec le Pr Gilles Dreyfus aux éditions Michel Lafon .